top of page

About Nate Ruffin

Nate Ruffin

The Beginning...

The Cade Chapel– Nate Ruffin Scholarship Fund was established in 2003 in honor of the late Brother Nate Ruffin. We were blessed during the 1990’s to have Brother Ruffin, his wife Sharon, and their children join our church family while they were residents in Jackson. During that time, Brother Ruffin was employed as Human Resources Director for the Clarion Ledger and served as a gifted motivator for our youth and church family. The turning point of his life is depicted on the silver screen in the Warner Brothers’ movie “We Are Marshall” released in 2006. It is the true story about hope and the will to overcome life’s tragedies.

Nate Ruffin
Nate Ruffin

Scholarship Fund

The Cade Chapel-Nate Ruffin Scholarship Fund was established through a generous donation by Nate’s widow, Sharon, to honor his dedication to education. Designated high school graduates of Cade Chapel Baptist Church, the Virden Addition Community, and Jackson Public Schools students are encouraged to apply each year for the Cade Chapel-Nate Ruffin Scholarship in their quest for educational advancement and achievement. The Scholarship funds are supported through annual fundraisers, individual donations, and/or corporate donations. Since August 2004, the Nate Ruffin Scholarship Board has awarded over 140 scholarships to students who are currently enrolled at (or graduated from) various colleges and universities.

All proceed benefit scholarships for students meeting application requirements.

2023 Cade Chapel Nate Ruffin Scholarship Board Members

Kelvin Williams, Chair

Tiffari Terrell

LaKeisha Bland

Faye Foster

Britney Harris

Kennedi Brown, Associate Member

Oliver Sims, Vice Chair

Kay Beasley 

Terri Gray

Tori Owens, Gala Co-Chair

Dr Erica Battle, Gala Co-Chair

Terrie Harris, Treasurer

Sandra Crowley, Secretary

Joan Henderson

Shirley Sanders, Asst. Secretary

Kathleen Davis, Asst. Treasurer


bottom of page